Instagram has now added a 'Favourites' feature to their platform which allows users to only post some posts to certain people in their 'favourites' which could be used for family or ACTUAL friends. This includes both regular posts and stories.
Prior to the new release, users were able to control who can and cannot see their posts using accounts called 'Finstagrams', which is set to private and only accept request from close friends.
Other users have found that they can share a post, wait for their friends to acknowledge it with a 'like' and then delete it in order to control who can view their content.
'People are trying to hack Instagram to create smaller audiences, and we're trying to recognize that,' Robby Stein, product lead at Instagram, told the Verge.
And Instagram found that those who used the site in these ways tended to share less.